What is DACA?

What is DACA?

What is DACA? 150 150 Tenny Minassian
Note: This information page is being reviewed and edited following the June 18 Supreme Court ruling. Check back for updates.

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

In June 2012, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) created the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program or DACA. The program provides qualifying individuals:

  • Permission to Stay– DACA provides permission for individuals to live, work, and study in the U.S. DACA benefits last for two years, and can be renewed.
  • Opportunity to Renew– DACA can be renewed every two years. You cannot age-out of the DACA program.
  • Benefits – DACA recipients can apply for a work permit and get a social security number and driver’s license.

Even though DACA grants lawful presence in the United States, it will NOT change your immigration status and is NOT a pathway to citizenship. DACA benefits do not extend to family members and can be terminated at any time.


DACA was available to individuals who:

  • Were under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;
  • Came to the United States before reaching their 16th birthday;
  • Had continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time;
  • Were physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of applying for DACA;
  • Had no lawful status on June 15, 2012;
  • Were currently in school, had graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, had obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or was an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; and
  • Had not been convicted of a felony, a significant misdemeanor, or three or more other misdemeanors, and did not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.
  • For more details on eligibility requirements visit the USCIS’s Frequently Asked Questions page or consult with an attorney.
Skip to content